Wattpad: A Distraction or an Inspiration?

wattpad colorful

It seems that nowadays, teenagers don’t usually read a book. They said that it is boring and a waste of time. When I was young, I thought of that too, but when Wattpad came, it changed my perspectives and eventually, I loved reading books especially fiction books.

Many people say that Wattpad is a distraction in a teenager’s life especially in their studies. They say that it is leading to the presence of early love life in that specific person or it is the cause of not being able to study hard because of reading fiction books rather than books that helps in studying.

But for me, as a bibliophile that starts because of Wattpad, it is an inspiration. And I’m going to prove you that.

Pop Fiction Books: It is one of the most famous publishing company here in the Philippines. They are getting novels from wattpad and turning it into a physical book. According to what I’ve known, books that have million reads have a high chance in being published and with luck, it may be transformed into a movie or series.

Based on my experience, when I first read a wattpad book, later on I also started reading Young Adult books (international books) because of being interested. Some author that came from Wattpad also said that wattpad books push teenagers to read also other books that came from other countries.

At first I only read Tagalog wattpad books because I always say that I can’t understand English books but later on, I’ve realized that I can use dictionaries to check what is the meaning of a specific word, so I can read English books without exaggerating (because they say that English books can make us nosebleed LOL).

As my opinion, Wattpad is the first step in reading a book especially in teenagers because they can be interested in books because of the different genres. You can also learn something about life, on your vocabulary and it can be a stress relieving hobby.

Authors. They can be an inspiration for the readers because they can see how to write a story and somehow, they’ll start to do their own story and hoping for their book to be published. This is also the start for the people who dream of being an author someday.

So, a Distraction or an Inspiration? You’ll be the judge.

 

Leave a comment